

Croydon Chess Club President's Report 2023

State of the Club

Croydon Chess Club continues to thrive as players return in droves to play over the board chess. Having taken appropriate precautions last year, we were able to accommodate these players and provide them a space to play and enjoy chess for an entire uninterrupted year. By year's end, the number of financial members had reached 159. Not all of those could remain with us throughout the year, of course, but in the final term, we still had 32 Senior members, 34 Youth Club Members, 36 Junior Club members and about 18 Beginners regularly turning up each week, giving a total of about 120 active members learning and competing in chess tournaments over three nights a week.

Member Achievements

Senior Club

The first tournament of the year saw Guy West win the Croydon Open with a perfect 7/7 score followed by a three way tie for second between Garry Lycett, R'jaye Rojas and Simon Andersson. The yearly Fischer Random tournament saw another of our Senior Club coaches NY Wong win with 5.5/6 followed closely by R'jaye Rojas on 5/6.

Term two saw the President's Cup won by Ian Birchall on 6.5/7 yielding only a single draw to myself in second place, followed closely by a pack of 4 players in equal third.

The Frost Winter Warmer was the first of our two senior tournaments in term three which was won by myself on 4.5/5 again followed by a hotly contested second place shared between Simon Andersson and Van Madanhi. Following this was the Spring Cup won by Guy West on 4.5/5 with myself and Ian Birchall trailing half a point behind on 4/5.

Our final and most prestigious event of the year is the Club Championship held in term four that was once again won by Guy West on 6.5/7 followed by myself in outright second, and Ian Birchall in outright third.

Junior Club

Our Junior Club has continued to sustain itself with three divisions, the Youth Club, Junior A and Junior B. The skills of these juniors can be seen to be improving as they progress through these groups and in many cases continue to achieve podium finishes.

I wanted to highlight a few of these players in each club for their achievements this year. From the Youth Club Elijah Rojas, Shun Him Leung, Jack Tiley, Isaac Lockwood and Chern Jun Kong rose above the rest. In particular, the title of Croydon Junior Chess Champion was determined via playoff between Elijah Rojas and Chern Jun Kong where the latter came out victorious.



Junior A first saw Chern Jun Kong winning before moving up to the Youth Club, Hao Guo and Xiaoyi Yang followed in their footsteps by winning gold medals after. Additionally, Aritha Warasundera also found success in Junior A after moving up from winning tournaments in Junior B. Max Cheung and Chen Guo showed improvement throughout the year to start taking gold medals by the end of the year.

One highlight of the Junior Chess Calendar occurs during the school holidays between terms one and two where we hold our two day Junior Chess Open event. This year the event saw three players, Elijah Rojas, Johar Khatti and Harry Haoran, finish at the top of the field of almost 50 players each with 6/7.

Thanks

As is tradition, I am grateful for the dedication shown by each and every one of the committee members for making Croydon Chess Club operate as smoothly as it does. In particular I would like to highlight the junior coaches Ian Birchall and Richard Goldsmith for taking the time to help foster the skills of the junior club members. And for the seniors, I am thankful for Guy West's and NY Wong's senior coaching sessions to also help us continue to develop our skills.

As Croydon Chess Club enters its 20th year of operation it continues to grow with the challenges and demands that we have been presented with. I look forward to continuing with my involvement in the club for more years to come. Finally, I want to once again thank the committee members who have been with the club for its entirety and continue to provide a space where all chess players are welcome.

Kyle Gibson (President)

Your 2023 Committee: Kyle Gibson (President), Richard Goldsmith (Vice President), Garry Voigt (Treasurer), Ian Birchall (Secretary), Pearl Yung, Guy West, Ion Kloprogge